Tuesday, February 12, 2013

It is an exciting day today at KASB.  Tonight is the Leadership for Tomorrow Awards.  It is the culminating activity for the class each year.  This class has been outstanding with state wide representation.  I anticipate several alumni in attendance and it should be a great evening to visit and prepare for tomorrows Governmental Relations Seminar.

KASB’s emphasis for this program has been to: 1) identify exemplary school superintendents and board of education members from across Kansas; 2) inform them of key education issues; 3) provide avenues through which participants better understand how issues impact the state and other districts; and, 4) foster future legislative advocacy. 

The topics for the five class sessions include legal issues; advocacy issues; local and state budget issues; special education; student achievement; community engagement; technology; rural and urban issues; English as a second language; media; poverty; safety; communication; state and national trends; health issues; post secondary education opportunities; and ethics.

The five class sessions were held across Kansas in May, July, September, December and February.

Class of 2012-2013 Members:

Susan Brinkman, Emporia                              Jean M. Clifford, Garden City
Larry Combs, North Ottawa                          Nedra Elbl, Salina
Carole Farthing, Independence                       Deborah Hamm, Newton
Pam Lawson, McPherson                               Mark Littell, Winfield
Mark Polifka, Ellis                                          Richard Proffitt, Southeast of Saline
Sherry Reeves, Basehor-Linwood                  Amy Schwein, Wamego
Jerry Seim, Southeast of Saline                       Laura Umphenour, Jayhawk

No comments:

Post a Comment